Ajuy is in the northeastern part of the province of Iloilo.  Using the Rizal Monument at the center of the plaza as the point of reference, it is located within 123 degrees, 01 minute, and 16 seconds longitude, and 11 degrees, 10 minutes, and 30 seconds latitude on the northeastern part of Iloilo province.  It is bounded by the municipality of Sara in the north, by the Ajuy Bay in the south, by the municipalities of Lemery and Barotac Viejo in the west and by Concepcion in the east.  It is 92 kilometers away from the city of Iloilo.  Based on the Land Management Bureau data, the municipality of Ajuy has a total land area of 17,557.19 hectares.


The town of Ajuy is a seashore municipality and agricultural at the same time.  It is characterized by an irregular surface with high mountain ranges in the western part with an elevation of up to 500 meters above sea level and coastal plains at an elevation of up to 100 meters above sea level.  The elevation of up 100 meters above sea level is composed of about 9,731 hectares.  That is almost the half of the total area of Ajuy.  The mountainous region of Ajuy which has an elevation of up 500 meters above sea level is composed of about 68 hectares.   


Ajuy has slope categories that are: Level to nearly Steep (0-3%) - 6,642 hectares; Undulating to Rolling (8-18%) – 1,685 hectares; Rolling to Moderately Steep (18-30%) – 5,508 hectares; Steep (30-50%) – 2,225 hectares; and Very Steep (>50%) – 1,644 hectares.    


There are 4 kinds of rock formations in the municipality.  They are neogene, oligocene (igneous rocks), recent and unknown rock formations.  The neogene rock formations could be found in the range of 100-300 meters elevation above sea level.  Barangays Luca, Santo Rosario, parts of Culasi, Badiangan, Progreso, and Agbobolo cover this kind of rock formation.  The oligocene rock formations are in Barangays Culasi, parts of Malayu-an, and Barrido while recent rock formations are in the lower elevation above sea level which is up to 100 meters and in barangays which are near if not far enough to the Ajuy Bay.  The unknown rock formations could be found in the islands of Ajuy. High-angle Faultlines are detected in Barangays Agbobolo, Badiangan, Tipacla, Tanduyan, Adcadarao, and Poblacion.             


Ajuy is an agricultural town with about 3,963.26 hectares in area devoted to agriculture.  There are 9 types of soil in the municipality.  They are Barotac loam, Barotac loam lowland phase, Hydrosol, Luciana loam, San Rafael loam, Sara sandy loam, Sta. Rita clay loam, Umingas fine sandy loam, and Unknown.  Barotac loam is the most abundant of all types while the San Rafael loam is the second.  The Barotac loam lowland phase is found mostly in the coastal areas.  The Hydrosol and Luciana loam divides the areas of Barangays Pedada and Bay-ang.  Barangays Central, Tanduyan, Pinay Espinosa, Pinantan Diel, parts of Pinantan Elizalde, Poblacion, and San Antonio are comprised of Sara sandy loam.  The Umingas fine sandy loam is the least of all type.  The Sta. Rita clay loam comprises parts of Barangays Luca, Culasi, and Barrido.  The Unknown type of soil is the islands and island barangays of the municipality.       


It is safe to say that the town of Ajuy has a large area of No Apparent Erosion and only Moderate Erosion potential.  The potential Slight Erosion is near the boundary of the municipality of Barotac Viejo.  Severe Erosion potential are in the western part of the municipality within the slope range of Rolling to Moderately Steep to Very Steep.  The island and island Barangays of Ajuy are yet Unclassified for Erosion potential.


The climate of the town is characterized by no pronounced seasons.  The relatively wet season is from May to October and after that, it is dry for the rest of the year.  Maximum rain periods are not very pronounced and dry seasons last from one to three months.


Bodies of water like waterfalls, creeks, and rivers are essential to a municipality’s agricultural needs.  Ajuy has plenty of creeks like Malayanap creek in Barangay Culasi, Malayu-an creek that divides Barangays Malayu-an and Barrido.  Lambuyan creek in Barangay Badiangan, Nabo-ongan creek in Barangay Agbobolo, Manlud and Dulang creek which traverses in Barangays Santo Rosario and Culasi.  Tigbao creek in which traverses in Barangays Pili and Malayu-an, Pinantan creek in Barangay Pinantan Elizalde, Nabaye creek in Barangay Pantalan Nabaye. 

The major rivers in Ajuy are Gubaton and Balogo rivers, which flows through Barangays Badiangan, Central, Lanjagan, Progreso, Tipacla, and Tanduyan, and Barangays Badiangan, San Antonio, and Progreso, respectively.  Bucana Bunglas river which trickles in Barangays Bucana Bunglas and Pantalan Navarro.  Barangay Agbobolo has also a river known as Gerongan river.  Ga-as river is also in Barangay San Antonio.  All these creeks and rivers springs from the mountainous and timberland parts of Barangays Badiangan, Santo Rosario, and Culasi which has a total area of about 0.18 sq.kms.. 

When it comes to waterfalls, Ajuy has 5 scenic waterfalls in Barangays Pili, Santo Rosario, Tipacla, Sitio Dawis of Poblacion, and Progreso.  Cubay falls is in Barangay Progreso, Dawis falls in Sitio Dawis of Poblacion, Florida falls in Barangay Pili, Panalikdikon falls in Barangay Tipacla, and Agcolaknit falls in Barangay Santo Rosario.             


  +63 33 392 0408

  +63 33 393 0342




  PHILIPPINE                5012   


  ajuy.iloilo                       @lgu_ajuy

 lgu ajuy                            ajuynon


PNP (POLICE STATION) -  09989673721 

BFP (FIRE STATION) - 09176371785




© 2018 AJUY All Rights Reserved.